The Crusader Newspaper Group

The Chicago Urban League announces Class of 2023 Fellows for its IMPACT Leadership Development Program

The Chicago Urban League has selected 44 emerging leaders for the 2023 cohort of its IMPACT Leadership Development Program, an intensive, nine-month program that helps Black professionals advance in their careers while building a more diverse pipeline of leaders across Chicago.

The cohort, which includes talented individuals from the corporate, government and nonprofit sectors, is the program’s ninth since IMPACT began in 2014. Fellows are nominated by their employers and are selected through a competitive application process. More than 100 organizations in the Chicagoland area have sponsored IMPACT Fellows.

“With an eight-year track record of bringing in diverse and accomplished individuals as Fellows to the program, IMPACT continues to show the need of equitable leadership,” said Karen Freeman-Wilson, President and CEO of the Chicago Urban League.

In partnership with the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, one of the world’s leading business schools, the League invites prominent academics, subject matter experts, and industry leaders to share their knowledge and insights with Fellows through day-long classroom experiences and supplemental sessions. IMPACT Fellows will also receive leadership assessments and mentoring.

“We are appreciative of the Booth School of Business for their continued support of developing Black leaders in Chicago” said Mavis Laing, Vice President and Executive Director of IMPACT.

Program partners include the MacArthur Foundation, the Hearst Foundation, and corporate donors and organizations from all sectors who sponsor Fellows.

Sessions for the 2023 IMPACT class will begin in September 2022. Applications for the 2024 class will be available in March 2023. For more information visit the IMPACT program page on our website.

The 2023 IMPACT Fellows are:

Bosé Akadiri, Manager, Citizen Philanthropy; Salesforce,

Doug Anderson; Senior Manager- Compliance, Charles Schwab;

Chanelle Bell, Vice President, External Affairs, Teach For America Greater Chicago-Northwest Indiana;

Alex Black, Assistant State’s Attorney, Cook County State’s Attorney’s Office;

Melissa Brinson, Senior Manager, Contracts, Invenergy LLC;

Tiffany Brown, Clinical Specialty Pharmacist, CVS Specialty;

Jerry Bwanhot, Staff Engineer, UL Solutions;

Danielle Clark, Associate Director, Pritzker Tech Talent Labs, Discovery Partners Institute;

Christopher Crater, Senior Associate, My Brother’s Keeper Alliance, Obama Foundation;

Sevara Davis, SVP/Chief Operating Officer, POAH Communities;

Patrick Echols, Integrated Services Engagement Specialist, CDW;

Tobenna Egwu, Deputy Director, Research, Operations, and Innovation, Cook County Government;

Janine Franklin, Senior Director of Student Culture and Support, Noble Schools;

Leslee Giles, Senior Manager, Accenture;

Dara Gray Basley, Director of Health Equity, Access Community Health Network;

Patrick Hendricks, Director of Development, Rush University Medical Center, West Side United;

Tamara Hoff Pope, Vice President of Programs, Chicago Scholars;

Brittany Hughes, AVP Commercial Lender, Fifth Third Bank;

Melanie Jefferies, Midwest Regional Leader, Milhouse Engineering and Construction;

Reneisha Jenkins, Vice President, Imaging Technology, Advocate Aurora Health;

Tomorris Jocelyn, Vice President, BMO Harris Bank;

Blake-Anthony Johnson, President & CEO, Chicago Sinfonietta;

Michelle Kemp, Founder & Consultant, MK Consulting Group LLC;

Danan Kirby, Client Portfolio Manager, Ariel Investments, LLC;

Michelle Kittrell, Statistics and Financial Reporting Manager, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago;

Valencia Koker, Managing Director of Impact, City Year Chicago;

TaQuoya McConnico, Executive Director, Illinois House Democratic Caucus;

Mohamed Mohamedein, Senior Engineer-System Modernization Program, WEC Energy Group;

Jennifer Polk, Chief Marketing and Digital Experience Officer, Feeding America;

Dominique Price, Associate, Hinshaw Culbertson;

Samson Reeves III, Vice President, Treasury Management Officer, Associated Bank;

Gina Ricard, Associate Director, Ichor Strategies;

Charlique C. Rolle, Executive Director, Congo Square Theatre Company;

Latricia Seye, Director of Independent Living, Access Living;

Nick Shields, Director of Communications & Public Affairs, Cook County, Offices of the President- Toni Preckwinkle; Kevin Sims, Sourcing Manager, McDonalds;

Royce Strahan, Sr. Communications Manager, Campaigns, Amazon;

Lauren Terrell, Producer, BET Ad Sales Production, Paramount;

Craig Thames, HR Analytics & Intelligence Manager, UL Solutions;

Paris Thomas, Co-Executive Director, Rush University Medical Center/Equal Hope;

Timothy Turner, Director, Pharmacy Insights, Walgreens;

Justin Walker, Design Researcher & Strategist, ChiByDesign;

Bruce Woods II, Vice President, Advanced Development Program, Northern Trust; and

Constance Wright, Assistant Dean of Academic Standing, Northwestern University.

Recent News

Scroll to Top