The Crusader Newspaper Group

Phi Delta Kappa’s Beta Mu Chapter presents its 31st Teach-A-Rama

The National Sorority of Phi Delta Kappa, Inc. Beta Mu Chapter held their annual “Teach-A-Rama” recently. The 31st annual event was held at Avalon Manor in Merrillville, featuring a Mini Ed/Health Fair and Awards Luncheon.

The National Sorority is a professional organization of women in the field of education, organized in 1923 “to bring about a more intimate relationship and more effective cooperation among teachers to foster a spirit of sisterhood and to promote the highest ideal of the teaching profession,” per information provided by the organization.

IMG 2633 2 e1481297185332
DR. CORDIA P. MOORE (in white suit), Assistant to the Superintendent of the Gary Community School Corporation, was presented with the 2016 Distinguished Educator Award by Dr. Cheryl L. Pruitt (second from right) at the 31st annual Teach-A-Rama event held at the Avalon Manor in Merrillville.

As a part of the “Teach-A-Rama” a dynamic speaker, Dr. Michael A. McGee, FACEP Chief and Medical Director of the Northwest Emergency Associates brought an inspiring and interactive message to the luncheon attendees. The theme was “Embracing The Standards – Raising The Bar.” Honorees were Dr. Cordia P. Moore, Assistant to the Superintendent of the Gary Community School Corporation, who was presented the 2016 Distinguished Educator Award; and Dorothy R. Leavell, Editor and Publisher of the Gary Crusader, the recipient of the 2016 Citation Award. Surprise recognition was given to Beta Mu Chapter Sorors Mary Williams and Mozelle Anderson as Sorors of the Year.

Soror Delores Gibson, presided at the luncheon, beginning the program by introducing Soror Onitta Parker, who welcomed all the guests. Greetings were also brought by Carmen Wilson, representing Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson and Rosie Washington, Vice President of the Gary Board of School Trustees. Soror Annette Kennedy brought the invocation. Other participants included Soror Mary Williams, who brought a “Salute to Vendors,” segment, which featured a presentation of their wares. A musical medley on the keyboards was presented by Amiata Burton, a first-year music teacher at Wirt/Emerson Visual & Performing Arts High Ability Academy and a tribute was presented by Soror Florine Lacefield.

Noted presenters included Soror Shirley Thomas, who introduced the speaker, Dr. McGee and Dr. Cheryl L. Pruitt, presented the Distinguished Educator Award to Dr. Cordia B. Moore.

IMG 2637 2 e1481297214494
THE EDITOR AND Publisher of the Chicago Crusader Newspaper, Dorothy R. Leavell, was recently honored by the Beta Mu Chapter of the Phi Delta Kappa, Inc. National Sorority. Leavell accepts the 2016 Citation Award from Soror Nora Robbs, who is shown reading the award as other Soror sisters look on.

Dr. McGee is a native Gary citizen and received his B.S. degree from Purdue University, Master’s degree from the University of Illinois in Chicago and MD from Rush Medical College in Chicago. His internship in New York University’s Bellevue Hospital led to work at Emory/Grady Medical Center in Atlanta, Georgia, when in 2006 he returned home to continue his career in medicine. Having served as Chief and Medical Director for the Emergency Medicine Departments at Methodist Hospitals in Gary and Merrillville. He is currently the Medical Director for both Emergency Medical Services (EMS) and the Indiana University Northwest School of Medicine Student Wellness Health Center.

In an innovative community move, Dr. McGee supports various youth programs which acts to focus on violence prevention within the community and created a youth health awareness and violence prevention outreach program called Project Outreach and Prevention (POP). A video presentation on the program, as well a presentation by one of the youth participants highlighted his presentation.

Recipients of the awards gave remarks after each presentation, which was sparked with experiences of their own and enthusiasm for the future. The organization has a long history of going above and beyond in providing the best teaching experience for each student they encounter. They are committed to continue to inspire their students and promote education.

IMG 2638 2 e1481297256650
AFTER ACCEPTING HER 2016 Citation Award from the National Sorority of Phi Delta Kappa Beta Mu Chapter, Dorothy R. Leavell, (at the podium) takes a moment to address the guests attending the Awards Luncheon. (Photos by Andrew Leavell)

Serving as Chair and Co-Chair of the Teach-A-Rama Committee was Ruth Walker and Anne Thompson, respectively. Committee members included Belva Cargle, Sadie Ethridge, Delores Gibson, Mary Holly, Rubye James, Winifred Jones, Annette Kennedy, Florine Lacefield, Catherine McReynolds, LaFonda Morris, Daisy Purnell, Marnita Taylor, Shirley Thomas, Marlene Thompson, Joan Washington and Mary Williams.

Recent News

Scroll to Top