The Crusader Newspaper Group

Obama endorses 81 candidates for midterm elections

Crusader Staff Report

Former President Barack Obama on Wednesday, August 1, endorsed Democratic Gubernatorial candidate J.B. Pritzker and Democratic Attorney General candidate Kwame Raoul, both of whom are among 81 Democratic candidates from across the country seeking to win seats in federal, state and local offices in the November elections.

For Julianna Stratton, Pritzker’s running mate, this will be her second endorsement from Obama. In 2016, Obama endorsed Stratton in her campaign to unseat State

Obama’s endorsements:

jb pritzker
J.B. Pritzker
Screen Shot 2018 08 02 at 10.03.53 AM
Julianna Stratton
Screen Shot 2018 08 02 at 10.04.11 AM
Ken Dunkin
Screen Shot 2018 08 02 at 10.06.02 AM
Stacey Abrams
kwame raoul
Kwame Raoul
Mayor Rahm Emanuel

Representative Ken Dunkin in one of the most expensive campaigns for a House seat in Illinois history.

Obama also endorsed Stacey Abrams, who is trying to become Georgia’s first Black female governor.

“I’m proud to endorse such a wide and impressive array of Democratic candidates – leaders as diverse, patriotic, and big-hearted as the America they’re running to represent,” Obama said. “I’m confident that, together, they’ll strengthen this country we love by restoring opportunity that’s broadly shared, repairing our alliances and standing in the world, and upholding our fundamental commitment to justice, fairness, responsibility, and the rule of law. But first, they need our votes – and I’m eager to make the case for why Democratic candidates deserve our votes this fall.”


Raoul issued the following statement in response to his endorsement by President Barack Obama.

“I sincerely appreciate the endorsement of my predecessor in the Illinois Senate and a great president, Barack Obama. We have lived in the same neighborhood, represented the same communities and worked to address many of the same challenges. His confidence is meaningful to me as I seek to continue my advocacy as Attorney General.”

Obama said he believes America’s long-term challenges can be addressed best “when we all take a more active role in our democracy.”

The endorsements are Obama’s biggest political move yet since he left office in 2017. During his post White House years, the president has been low key in politics while his successor, President Donald Trump criticized him and his policies on immigration, healthcare and Russia.

Obama said he is dedicating his post-Presidency efforts to “identifying and elevating the next generation of leaders.” Obama said this is the first round of endorsements he has granted and he wants to help current and aspiring Democratic leaders establish themselves, build their profiles, and lead their communities.

Obama did not say whether he will grant endorsements for next year’s mayoral elections in Chicago, where his former White House Chief of Staff Rahm Emanuel is running for a third term. With his damaged reputation in the Black community, political analysts say Obama may stay away from his ally to avoid alienating Blacks.

Obama is expected to campaign in several states this fall and to issue a second round of endorsements in advance of November 6.

Obama aides say the former president will prioritize supporting redistricting targets recommended by the National Democratic Redistricting Committee (NDRC), taking back control of the U.S. House of Representatives, and growing the U.S. Senate Democratic Caucus.

See below, for a complete list of endorsements.


Gavin Newsom (Governor)

Eleni Kounalakis (Lt. Governor)

Josh Harder (U.S. House, CA-10)

TJ Cox (U.S. House, CA-21)

Katie Hill (U.S. House, CA-25)

Katie Porter (U.S. House, CA-45)

Harley Rouda (U.S. House, CA-48)

Mike Levin (U.S. House, CA-49)

Ammar Campa-Najjar (U.S. House, CA-50)

Buffy Wicks (State Assembly, District 15)


Jared Polis (Governor)

Dianne Primavera (Lt. Governor)

Phil Weiser (Attorney General)

Jena Griswold (Secretary of State)

Tammy Story (State Senate, District 16)

Jessie Danielson (State Senate, District 20)

Brittany Pettersen (State Senate, District 22)

Faith Winter (State Senate, District 24)

Dylan Roberts (State House, District 26)

Dafna Michaelson Jenet (State House, District 30)

Shannon Bird (State House, District 35)

Rochelle Galindo (State House, District 50)

Julie McCluskie (State House, District 61)


Stacey Abrams (Governor)

Sarah Riggs Amico (Lt. Governor)

Matthew Wilson (State House, District 80)

Shelly Hutchinson (State House, District 107)

  • Illinois
  • J.B. Pritzker (Governor)
  • Juliana Stratton (Lt. Governor)
  • Kwame Raoul (Attorney General)
  • Sean Casten (U.S. House, IL-6)
  • Brendan Kelly (U.S. House, IL-12)
  • Lauren Underwood (U.S. House, IL-14)


Deidre DeJear (Secretary of State)

Tim Gannon (Secretary of Agriculture)

Kristin Sunde (State House, District 42)

Jennifer Konfrst (State House, District 43)

Eric Gjerde (State House, District 67)

Laura Liegois (State House, District 91)


Louis Luchini (State Senate, District 7)

Laura Fortman (State Senate, District 13)

Linda Sanborn (State Senate, District 30)


Jacky Rosen (U.S. Senate)

Susie Lee (U.S. House, NV-3)

Steven Horsford (U.S. House, NV-4)

New Jersey

Andy Kim (U.S. House, NJ-3)

Tom Malinowski (U.S. House, NJ-7)

New Mexico

Debra Haaland (U.S. House, NM-1)

Daymon Ely (State House, District 23)

Natalie Figueroa (State House, District 30)

New York

Antonio Delgado (U.S. House, NY-19)

Anna Kaplan (State Senate, District 7)

North Carolina

Wiley Nickel (State Senate, District 16)

Ron Wesson (State House, District 1)

Terence Everitt (State House, District 35)

Julie Von Haefen (State House, District 36)

Sydney Batch (State House, District 37)

Rachel Hunt (State House, District 103)


Richard Cordray (Governor)

Betty Sutton (Lt. Governor)

Steve Dettelbach (Attorney General)

Kathleen Clyde (Secretary of State)

Zack Space (Auditor)

Aftab Pureval (U.S. House, OH-1)

Jill Schiller (U.S. House, OH-2)

Phil Robinson (State House, District 6)

Stephanie Howse (State House, District 11)

Mary Lightbody (State House, District 19)

Beth Liston (State House, District 21)

Allison Russo (State House, District 24)

Erica Crawley (State House, District 26)

Tavia Galonski (State House, District 35)

Casey Weinstein (State House, District 37)

Taylor Sappington (State House, District 94)


Madeleine Dean (U.S. House, PA-4)

Susan Wild (U.S. House, PA-7)

Tina Davis (State Senate, District 6)

Liz Hanbidge (State House, District 61)

Carolyn Comitta (State House, District 156)


Adrienne Bell (U.S. House, TX-14)

Colin Allred (U.S. House, TX-32)

Recent News

Scroll to Top