The Crusader Newspaper Group

Gary Common Council makes history with unanimous selection of all-female leadership

Gary City Hall. (Roberto Galan/Canva)

Following two unanimous votes, Fourth District Councilwoman Tai Adkins and First District Councilwoman Lori Latham will make history as the inaugural all-woman leadership team of the Gary Common Council.

Following the vote and her oath of office President Adkins expressed gratitude to her colleagues, emphasizing her commitment to inclusive leadership. She stated, “I want you to know that I will lead with integrity, with class…and I want you to help me. I learn from every one of you every time we talk.” Adkins now serving her second term as 4th District councilwoman and her first full stint as president after serving on an interim basis following the resignation of former president William Godwin.

Vice President Latham expressed similar sentiments after her swearing-in, “I just want to say how deeply grateful I am to serve this city I love so much. Thank you so much to the Council for trusting me with this responsibility.”

The officers were sworn in by Gary City Clerk Suzette Raggs in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 401 Broadway in Gary.

Councilwoman Linda Barnes-Caldwell will continue to serve as Council Parliamentarian in 2024 making this the first session in the Council’s storied history that women hold each leadership position.

The full roster of council members is as follows:

1st District – Lori Latham

2nd District – Dwayne Halliburton

3rd District – Mary Brown

4th District – Tai Adkins

5th District – Linda Barnes-Caldwell

6th District – Dwight Williams

At Large:

Ronald Brewer, Sr.

Mark Spencer

Darren Washington

Council meetings are held the first and third Tuesdays at 6:00 p.m. in the council chambers and are broadcast live on WJPN Channel and via Facebook. For more information about the Gary Common Council, visit

Recent News

Scroll to Top