The Crusader Newspaper Group

Dr. Lonnie Smith Trio and Jon Faddis Quartet with special guests replace Wayne Shorter Quartet for June 7 Symphony Center Presents Jazz Series Concert

The New 411

THE 411 2

The Symphony Center Presents (SCP) Jazz series announces that a double bill featuring the Dr. Lonnie Smith Trio and the Jon Faddis Quartet replaces the previously announced Wayne Shorter Quartet for the series concert scheduled for Friday, June 7, at 8 p.m. Due to an illness that precludes travel, Wayne Shorter is unfortunately unable to perform with his quartet for the Friday, June 7, SCP Jazz series concert.

Legendary organist and NEA Jazz Master Dr. Lonnie Smith came to the attention of such masters as Jack McDuff, Lou Donaldson and George Benson in the 1960s. Since then he has performed as both a sideman and bandleader for audiences around the world. Guitarist Jonathan Kresiberg and drummer Joe Dyson join Smith for a set that features soulful, swinging takes on jazz standards and signature Dr. Smith originals.

Trumpeter, educator and bandleader Jon Faddis is familiar to Chicago audiences as former artistic director of the Chicago Jazz Ensemble, and he is widely recognized as a virtuoso trumpet player and an artist of extraordinary depth and sophistication. In this performance, Faddis and his quartet members—David Hazeltine, piano; Kiyoshi Kitagawa, bass; and Rodney Green, drums—are joined by three other trumpet masters—Tanya Darby, Ingrid Jensen and Chicagoan Pharez Whitted—for a set of high-flying brass acrobatics to close the 2018/19 SCP Jazz season.

Tickets for Symphony Center Presents Jazz series concerts, which range from $38 to $135, are available at, via phone at 312-294-3000, or in person at the Symphony Center box office, 220 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago.

Symphony Center Presents Friday, June 7, 2019, 8:00 p.m.

Jazz Dr. Lonnie Smith Trio

Jon Faddis Quartet with Special Guests

Dr. Lonnie Smith Trio

Dr. Lonnie Smith, Hammond B-3 organ

Jonathan Kresiberg, guitar

Joe Dyson, drums

Jon Faddis Quartet with Special Guests

Jon Faddis, trumpet

Tanya Darby, trumpet

Ingrid Jensen, trumpet

Pharez Whitted, trumpet

David Hazeltine, piano

Kiyoshi Kitagawa, bass

Rodney Green, drums

Recent News

Scroll to Top