The Crusader Newspaper Group

Dons’ Annual Education Banquet a Success

I.U. Dons, Inc. & Donnettes Blue Ribbon Steering Committee’s held the 49th Annual Education Banquet last Saturday at the Genesis Convention Center.

Rep. Vernon G. Smith, president and general chairman for the banquet, dubbed “Education: Passport To The Future, said the event was a tremendous success.

Disiree Taylor

Smith said the special feature of the evening was the keynote address delivered by the winner of the Dons’ 2019 Oratorial Contest, Disiree Taylor, a student at West Side Leadership Academy. Bobby Sanders and Brittany Sanders, both students at West Side Leadership Academy won 2nd Place and 3rd Place, respectively.

Five scholarships were presented in memory of the late George R. Coker. Coker was executive director of the Urban League of Northwest Indiana when he died in 1971. The recipients were Joshua Forest and Cher-One Bradshaw, both seniors at Theodore Roosevelt College and Career Academy; Kennedy Rovier, Heaven Bell, and Brittany Sanders, all seniors at West Side Leadership Academy.

Constance “Connie” Winfrey received the Dons’ Outstanding Educator Award and Carolyn McCrady was presented the Dons’ Patricia Tillotson Meritorious Service Award. Winfrey is a veteran teacher with 50 years of experience and has established a legacy of excellence. McCrady is a well-known community activist.

Recent News

Scroll to Top