The Crusader Newspaper Group

Chicago women honored at SALUTE HER Awards on Dec. 8

On December 8, WSRB 106.3 Radio and Café Mocha syndicated show will honor a diverse group of female trailblazers at the Salute Her: Beauty of Diversity Awards Luncheon at Hotel Allegro in Chicago. Among the honorees are Grammy Award winner Yolanda Adams, NABJ stalwart and renowned journalist Lynn Norment, sustainable living advocate Riana Lynn, and community activist Tragil Wade.

The Third Annual Salute Her Awards Luncheon, presented by title sponsor Toyota, will kick off with a reception from 11 a.m. to noon at Hotel Allegro, 171 W. Randolph Street, Chicago.

The 2016 Salute Her: Beauty of Diversity honorees are:

  • Yolanda Adams, Grammy Award Winner, Spirit Award
  • Tragil Wade, Executive Director of Wade’s World Foundation, Champion for Children Award
  • Lynn Norment, President/ Founder of Lynn Norment Media, Media Legend Award
  • Glenda Gill, VP of Supplier Success LLC, Game Changer Award
  • Jocelyn Amador, Editor-in-Chief of Sophisticate’s Black Hair Styles and Care Guide, Media Innovator Award
  • Riana Lynn, Founder of FoodTrace Inc., Toyota Green Initiative Award

The Café Mocha radio show, affectionately known as ‘Radio from a Woman’s Perspective,’ is syndicated in 25 markets and airs in Chicago on Saturday mornings from 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. on WSRB 106.3. With a mission to inspire women and create a network environment, the much anticipated SALUTE HER: Beauty of Diversity Awards recognizes a diverse group of women who share a commitment to their communities. Sponsors Toyota and ORS Hair Care have joined forces with Café Mocha to continue their commitment to diversity and provide a voice of encouragement to all women. The Salute Her luncheon supports Chicago domestic violence shelters via the Mocha Cares Foundation.

Individual tickets to the luncheon can be purchased for $55.00 at For more information, visit

Café Mocha launched its annual Salute Her Awards series in 2011, with the goal of recognizing dynamic women who have made contributions within their communities to break down barriers. Past honorees include talk show host Wendy Williams, media veteran Jamie Foster Brown, soul superstar Syleena Johnson, cultural arts pioneer Vy Higginsen, actress/humanitarian Sheryl Lee Ralph, civil rights activist Dr. Bernice King, CNN anchor Fredricka Whitfield, and gospel artist Tamela Mann.

Café Mocha Radio Show is hosted by comedienne Loni Love of TV’s “The Real,” broadcast veteran Angelique Perrin; and rap icon YoYo. The two-hour show features the latest in urban music, compelling hot topics and advice “unabashedly” from a woman’s perspective. Café Mocha also offers exclusive interviews with top recording artists, celebrities, politicians and others making headlines.

Recent News

Scroll to Top