The Crusader Newspaper Group

Two Gary natives among governor’s honorees

On July 16, 2018, Governor Eric J. Holcomb honored eight African-American Hoosiers for their exceptional efforts across diverse fields—including education, health and civil rights—at the Governor’s Awards Reception held in conjunction with the 48th Indiana Black Expo (IBE) Summer Celebration. The reception acknowledges the outstanding achievement of African Americans throughout the state.

These awards recognize some of the community’s unsung heroes enhancing the need for collaboration and understanding by all Hoosiers for the 13th year. As part of the Indiana Black Expo’s Business Conference, the Governor and First Lady chatted with the group about some of the initiatives taking place in Indiana that are helping move our economy forward.

2018 Governor’s Reception Award Winners

Achievement in Health & Wellness – Nancy Jewell (posthumously), Indiana Minority Health Coalition, Indianapolis

Achievement in Business & Entrepreneurship – Tommy Williams, WLTH Radio, Gary

Achievement in Education – Yvonne Stokes, School Town of Munster, Munster

Achievement in Civil Rights – Next Level Award: Gloria Turner, A.L.E.R.T. Foundation, Indianapolis; Community Impact Award: Derrin Slack, ProAct Indy, Indianapolis; and Legacy Award: Alpha Blackburn, Indiana Civil Rights Commissioner, Indianapolis

Reverend Charles Williams Award – Jesse L. Moore

Sam Jones Trailblazer Award – Junifer Hall, Katie Hall Education Foundation, Inc., Gary.

The Governor’s Awards are sponsored by the Indiana Civil Rights Commission, Indiana Family and Social Services Administration, and the Indiana Department of Administration. Nominations for the 2019 awards will open at the beginning of August on the Indiana Civil Rights Commission website at


Recent News

Scroll to Top