The Crusader Newspaper Group

TV host Amy Goodman and U.S. President Abraham Lincoln to receive KHEF co-chairman’s award on April 7th

On Saturday, April 7th, the Katie Hall Educational Foundation will honor two great Americans, past and present for their great work in promoting democracy for all persons regardless of creed, national origin, race, or religion. Abraham Lincoln, 16th President of the United States of America will be honored posthumously, along with Amy Goodman, current television anchor/host of DemocracyNow! Both Lincoln and Goodman will share the Foundation’s 2018 Co-Chairman’s Award.

Screen Shot 2018 03 22 at 9.35.58 AM
Amy Goodman

President Lincoln is to be recognized by the Katie Hall Educational Foundation more than 150 years after his inauguration as the nation’s Chief Executive on March 4, 1861. In making the decision to honor President Lincoln posthumously, Junifer Hall, Chairman and CEO of the Katie Hall Educational Foundation, stated, “The Foundation had the chance to revisit the outstanding and long-lasting contributions of President Lincoln in preserving the Union, ending legalized slavery, the advancement of democracy for all citizens, and his role in establishing the Republican Party, which in the mid-1860s, had as its platform the major goal of transitioning former African slaves and Freedmen into mainstream American society by educating these persons.” Hall further stated, “I was inspired to honor President Lincoln after once again reviewing Emmy and Grammy Award winning documentary filmmaker Ken Burns’, documentary film, The Civil War, the most watched documentary film in American television history in November of last year.”

In the opinion of many Americans- President Lincoln’s courage, determination, and intellect in leading America during its darkest hour were phenomenal and surreal.

Ms. Amy Goodman is the current TV anchor/host of DemocracyNow! In 1996, this television program was co-founded by Goodman to fill the huge niche left vacant by the three major networks in reporting national and international news. Today, DemocracyNow! is broadcast by over 1,400 radio and television stations worldwide, as well as on the internet; and is watched by millions of Americans on the PBS network. Ms. Goodman has featured numerous human interest stories on DemocracyNow! highlighting the plight of Syrian refugees; ethnic cleansing in Bangladesh; as well as the immigration status of Haitians living and working in the United States after the 2016 election of U.S. President Donald J. Trump.

To date, past recipients of the Foundation’s Chairman’s Award are: Trial Attorney Willie E. Gary, Stuart, Florida; Mrs. Coretta Scott King (Posthumous); Mr. Ken Burns, Am-erica’s most prolific documentary filmmaker for his epic and historical production, The Civil War; and O.J. Simpson Defense Lawyer, Attorney Carl E. Douglas.

During the Sixth Annual Katie Hall Public Service Awards Luncheon, the Harriet Tubman Essay Contest winners will be announced for grades 3-5 and grades 6-8. In 2018, the elementary school students in Lake, LaPorte, and Porter counties in Indiana were asked to creatively and uniquely design a birthday card on the occasion of the 35th anniversary of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. National Holiday Law Signing by U.S. President Ro-nald Reagan, The White House, Washington, D.C. (November 2, 1983-November 2, 2018). The Harr-iet Tubman Essay Contest is the only known essay contest in the United States with its core participants being elementary school students as young as grade 3.

Other honorees on April 7th will include: Attorney Juan R. Thomas, 75th President of the National Bar Association; Attorney Robert L. Lewis of Robert L. Lewis & Associates; and Gary Councilwoman Mary Brown (D-3rd District).

The VIP Reception will begin at 11a.m. and the Luncheon will begin at Noon. Tickets are $50.00 per person and may be purchased at the Law Office of Attorney John Henry Hall, Ed.D., LL.M. at (219) 883-7711.

Recent News

Scroll to Top