The Crusader Newspaper Group

Registration still open for 12-Week spring semester at City Colleges of Chicago

Students interested in attending one of the seven City Colleges of Chicago (CCC) may still register for the 12-week Spring 2017 session until Monday, February 6, 2017.

City Colleges offers certificate and associate degree programs that prepare students to secure a job in a high-demand field or transfer to a four-year university, as well as free English as a Second Language (ESL) and GED high school equivalency instruction offered at 70 locations across the city.  New students may apply to City Colleges of Chicago by visiting the admissions page at

Chicago Star Scholarships are still available to graduates of Chicago Public Schools who meet eligibility requirements. Chicago Star Scholarships provide recipients with free tuition and books as they pursue an associate degree at City Colleges. Chicago Star Scholars are also eligible for scholarships and bachelor’s degree transfer opportunities offered by four-year colleges and universities in the Star Scholarship Partnership program.

By completing an associate degree at City Colleges, students can save tens of thousands of dollars when they transfer to a bachelor’s degree program at a four-year college or university.  City Colleges has more than 60 transfer partnerships with four-year colleges and universities, helping students seamlessly transition to bachelor’s degree programs nationwide.

Through its College to Careers programs, City Colleges ensures students are ready for the more than 600,000 jobs coming to the Chicago region in these fast-growing fields: advanced manufacturing (Daley College), business and professional services (Harold Washington College), construction (Dawson Technical Institute at Kennedy-King College), culinary and hospitality (Washburne Culinary & Hospitality Institute at Kennedy-King College), healthcare (Malcolm X College), transportation, distribution and logistics (Olive-Harvey College), education, human and natural sciences (Truman College), and information technology (Wright College).

City Colleges has developed partnerships with 200 corporate and university partners to revamp our curriculum and facilities in these fastest-growing fields and to place more than 3,000 students in jobs or paid internships.

Harold Washington College’s College to Careers focus is business and professional services, which includes the Paralegal and Legal Assistant Program. Harold Washington College’s two-year associate degree program is designed to give students the skills they need to obtain immediate employment as a paralegal in a variety of areas, including family law, legal research and writing, real estate law, business services, wills and trusts, intellectual property, and more. Evening classes are still available in Civil Litigation (BUS 148) and Family Law (BUS 149). 

City Colleges of Chicago offers its students dozens of student resources and services to help them succeed. These include advising, academic support/tutoring, transfer centers, career centers, veteran services, disability access centers, wellness centers, intramurals and athletics, student clubs and organizations, and much more. Many of these resources were the result of CCC’s Reinvention, a system-wide reform effort focused on dramatically improving student success in the classroom and in the workplace.

New students can apply by visiting the admissions page. Search for Spring 2017 courses at all seven City Colleges locations here.

The seven City Colleges of Chicago are:

  • Harold Washington College – 30 E. Lake St.
  • Harry S Truman College – 1145 W. Wilson Ave.
  • Kennedy-King College – 6301 S. Halsted St.
  • Malcolm X College and School of Health Sciences – 1900 W. Jackson Boulevard
  • Olive-Harvey College – 10001 S. Woodlawn Ave.
  • Richard J. Daley College – 7500 S. Pulaski Rd.
  • Wilbur Wright College – 4300 N. Narragansett Ave.

Spring 2017 12-week classes begin Monday, February 13, 2017.

To begin the registration process, call 773-COLLEGE or visit 

About City Colleges of Chicago

The City Colleges of Chicago (CCC) is the largest community college system in Illinois and one of the largest in the nation, with 5,500 faculty and staff serving 100,000 students annually at seven colleges and six satellite sites city-wide. CCC is in the midst of a Reinvention, a collaborative effort to review and revise programs and practices to ensure students leave CCC college- and career-ready. CCC’s College to Careers initiative partners with industry-leading companies to prepare Chicagoans for careers in growing fields.

The City Colleges of Chicago includes seven colleges:  Richard J. Daley College, Kennedy-King College, Malcolm X College, Olive-Harvey College, Harry S Truman College, Harold Washington College and Wilbur Wright College. The system also oversees the Washburne Culinary Institute, the French Pastry School, two restaurants, two cafes, a banquet facility, five Child Development Centers, the Center for Distance Learning, the Workforce Academy, the public broadcast station WYCC-TV Channel 20 and radio station WKKC-FM 89.3.  For more information about City Colleges of Chicago, call (773) COLLEGE or visit

Recent News

Scroll to Top