The Crusader Newspaper Group

Pence signs Education Agenda Bills focused on supporting teachers and schools

Governor Mike Pence recently signed two agenda bills in the rotunda of the Indiana Statehouse focused on supporting teachers and schools. The first, Senate Enrolled Act (SEA) 200, authored by Sen. Dennis Kruse (R – Auburn), Sen. Luke Kenley (R – Noblesville), and Sen. Ryan Mishler (R – Bremen), holds schools harmless for their A-F accountability grade for the 2014-2015 year to accommodate the transition to more rigorous academic standards. The second, House Enrolled Act (HEA) 1003, authored by Rep. Robert Behning (R – Indianapolis), ensures that teacher bonuses and evaluations are not negatively impacted by the transition to a new test this year.

“Today, we are saying thank you to Indiana’s dedicated teachers by ensuring that the results of our new test with higher standards will not negatively impact them, their families, or our schools,” said Governor Pence. “These new laws ensure that teacher compensation and bonuses will not be affected by the results of our recent ISTEP test and will ensure that our schools’ performance is fairly reflected when A-F grades are assigned later this year. I am grateful for the swift and bipartisan efforts by members of the General Assembly and the State Superintendent that put our kids, schools, and teachers first.”

The governor was joined by Lieutenant Governor Sue Ells-permann, State Superintendent Glenda Ritz, Speaker Brian Bosma, and President Pro Tem David Long. Legislators in attendance for HEA 1003 included author Rep. Robert Behning (R – Indianapolis), sponsors Sen. Ryan Mishler (R – Bremen), Sen. Luke Kenley (R – Noblesville), Sen. Jean Leising (R – Oldenburg), Sen. Mark Stoops (D – Bloomington), and Sen. Ed Charbonneau (R – Valparaiso), and co-author Rep. Anthony Cook (R – Cicero). Legislators in attendance for SEA 200 included bill authors Sen. Luke Kenley (R – Noblesville) and Sen. Ryan Mishler (R – Bremen), bill sponsor Rep. Robert Behning (R – Indianapolis), and bill co-authors Sen. Ed Charbonneau (R – Valparaiso), Sen. Jean Leising (R – Oldenburg), Sen. Mark Stoops (D – Bloomington), Sen. Carlin Yoder (R – Middlebury), Sen. Lonnie Randolph (D – East Chicago), and Sen. Jeff Raatz (R – Centerville).

To learn when bills reach the Governor’s desk or to subscribe for updates when bills are signed, visit 2016 Bill Watch.

Recent News

Scroll to Top