The Crusader Newspaper Group

John Legend’s New Christmas Album

A Legendary Christmas: The Deluxe Edition Features 4 New Tracks Including A Duet With Kelly Clarkson and a On Reimagined Version Of The Holiday Standard “Baby It’s Cold Outside”

By Raymond Ward, The New 411

THE 411EGOT winner and critically acclaimed, multi-platinum singer songwriter John Legend returns with the release of an expanded version of his first Christmas album, A LEGENDARY CHRISTMAS: THE DELUXE EDITION. The 18-track album executive produced by Raphael Saadiq and is out via Columbia Records. The album features new original recordings of four holiday classics. See the full track list below.

Kelly Clarkson joins John for a reimagined version of the holiday standard “Baby It’s Cold Outside,” with updated lyrics written by John and comedian Natasha Rothwell, writer and supervising producer of the hit HBO series “Insecure.” The new take is a whimsical and irreverent spin on this Holiday standard.

“I’ve loved holiday music since I was a kid in Ohio singing with my family every Christmas around my grandmother’s piano. We had so much fun recording, releasing and touring “A Legendary Christmas” last year. Now we get to make it even Legendary-er with four brand new tracks on the Deluxe Edition. I’m particularly excited about the new version of “Baby It’s Cold Outside” featuring my friend  Kelly Clarkson. I co-wrote a fun reimagined version of the lyrics with Natasha Rothwell, and we can’t wait for everyone to hear it. We hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed making it.”

Additional album highlights include the new tracks “This Christmas,” “My Favorite Things” and “Christ mas in New Orleans.”

For more information, visit:


  1. What Christmas Means to Me (feat.Stevie Wonder on harmonica)
  2. Bring Me Love
  3. This Christmas
  4. My Favorite Things
  5. Baby, It’s Cold Outside (feat. Kelly Clarkson)
  6. Christmas in New Orleans
  7. Silver Bells
  8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (feat.Esperanza Spalding)
  9. No Place Like Home
  10. Merry Christmas Baby / Give Love on Christmas Day
  11. Christmas Time Is Here
  12. By Christmas Eve
  13. Purple Snowflakes
  14. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)
  15. Please Come Home for Christmas
  16. Wrap Me Up in Your Love
  17. Waiting for Christmas
  18. Merry Merry Christmas

Multiplatinum artist John Legend has garnered ten Grammy Awards, an Academy Award, a Golden Globe Award, a Tony Award, and an Emmy Award, making Legend the first African-American man to earn an EGOT. Legend has released six celebrated albums including, Get Lifted (2004), Once Again (2006), Evolver (2008), Love in the Future (2013), Darkness and Light (2016), and A Legendary Christmas (2018). Legend starred in NBC’s “Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert” in 2018, winning an Emmy for Outstanding Variety Special and nominated for Outstanding Lead Actor (Limited Series). Legend joined “The Voice” for Season 16 (2019), winning with his mentee Maelyn Jarmon and is currently a judge on Season 17. John is a partner in Get Lifted Film Co., serving as an Executive Producer for “Southern Rites,” “United Skates,” WGN America’s “Underground,” and films “Southside With You” and “La La Land.” As a philanthropist, Legend initiated the #FREEAMERICA campaign in 2015 to change the national conversation surrounding our country’s misguided criminal justice policies and to end mass incarceration.

Recent News

Scroll to Top