Monday, July 26, 2021
HomeClerk Dorothy Brown hosts ‘Salute to Outstanding Women in Music & Theater’

Clerk Dorothy Brown hosts ‘Salute to Outstanding Women in Music & Theater’

Kim Stratton, Dee Alexander, Terisa Griffin, Jackie Taylor and Regina Taylor among the honored

The Honorable Dorothy Brown, Clerk of the Circuit Court of Cook County, and the Clerk’s Office’s Women’s Advisory Committee recognized 16 local women who are excelling in the performance arts during a Women’s History Month Celebration held in the Daley Center earlier this month.

CLERK BROWN presents award to famed actress/director Regina Taylor.

The “Salute to Outstanding Women in Music & Theater” awards program honored a diverse group of women, including: Dee Alexander, Vocalist/Songwriter; Dr. Svetlana Belsky, Pianist/Professor of Music, University of Chicago; Lili-Anne Brown, Director, Goodman Theater; Joan Collaso, Jazz Vocalist; Barbara Figgins, Actress; Terisa Griffin, Vocalist, Songwriter/Actress; Devin Joyner, Actress; Carol Lo Verde DiFrisco, Vocalist, Professor of Music, Columbia College; Marti Lyon, Theater Director; Yasuko Oura, Pianist, Professor of Music, Northwestern University; Sureya Perez, Vocalist; Myrna Salazar, Director, Chicago Latino Theater Alliance; Kim Stratton, Gospel Recording Artist; Jackie Taylor, Founder & CEO, Black Ensemble Theater; Regina Taylor, Director/Actress, and Jimalita Tillman, Director, Harold Washington Cultural Center. Surprise recognition was given to Debbie Cooley, a founding member of the CCC (Circuit Court Clerk) Ensemble.

AVA GOODWIN IN dance performance.

Maisha Wynn, author, lifestyle expert, and CEO of Live to Wynn, served as the Mistress of Ceremonies. Pastor Yolanda Cruz of Father’s Heart Church delivered the opening and closing prayers. Little Miss Ava Goodwin presented a dance performance, and Ms. Marlene Allen led the talented vocalists in an inspiring rendition of “Reach Out and Touch.”

HONORED VOCALISTS join in singing “Reach Out and Touch.”

The co-chairs of the Clerk’s Office’s Women’s Advisory Committee are Barbara Adrianopoli, Maria D’Amezcua, and Peggy Montes.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments